Invincible Lee Wai Sze claimed fourth Women's Sprint gold of the season


Onto the second day (January 26 ) of the Hong Kong Track Cycling World Cup, Hong Kong lead rider Sarah Lee Wai Sze was invincible en route to her Women’s Sprint gold medal, as she amassed her fourth gold medal of the season in front of the local fans, and the presence of Carrie Lam, the Chief Executive of Hong Kong. Lee will take part in Women’s Keirin tomorrow (January 27), hoping to repeat her feat of snatching two golds in a single World Cup, having already done so in New Zealand last week.




Sarah Lee was dominant as ever in today’s Women’s Sprint, clocking a time of 10.729 seconds and qualified for 1/8 Finals with the best result among 31 riders. Lee then outclassed Japan’s Yuka Kobayashi, before eliminating Australia’s Caitlin Ward with a 2:0 score line to reach the semi-finals. The local fans favorite overpowered Lithuania’s Simona Krupeckatie with back-to-back wins to reach the final, where she defeated South Korea’s star rider Lee Hyejin 2:0 with ease, in a rematch of last year’s Asian Games final. Lee Wai Sze added another gold to her collection at Hong Kong Velodrome after winning in France, Canada and New Zealand earlier this season. The 31-year-old rider remained undefeated in Women’s Sprint this season, winning four gold medals in as many outings.



Another Hong Kong rider Jessica Lee Hoi Yan also did well, she ranked 9th (11.055 seconds) in the qualifying, eliminated Japanese rider Riyu Ohta in 1/16 Finals, but she fell to Aussie’s Caitlin Ward in 1/8 Finals and missed out on a spot in the quarter-finals.


As for Women’s Madison, Hong Kong’s Leung Bo Yee and Yang Qianyu ranked last among 18 participating teams. Hong Kong young rider Law Tsz Chun lost in First Round of the Men’s Keirin, he then attempted to make a return in the First Round Repechage, but failed to make it through to the Second Round, while Leung Ka Yu ranked 13th among 24 riders in Men’s Omnium.


Day 2 (January 26) results

Women’s Madison

Gold: Kirsten Wild / Amy Peters (Netherlands)

Silver: Lotte Kopecky / Joliet D’Hoore (Belgium)

Bronze: Elisa Balsamo / Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Italy)


Men’s Omnium

Gold: Cameron Meyer (Australia)

Silver: Benjamin Thomas (France)

Bronze: Campbell Stewart (New Zealand)


Men’s Scratch 15 km

Gold: Guo Liang (China)

Silver: Adrian Hegyvary (United States)

Bronze: Davy Clement (France)


Women’s Sprint

Gold: Lee Wai Sze (Hong Kong)

Silver: Lee Hyejin (South Korea)

Bronze: Simona Krupeckatie (Lithuania)


Men’s Keirin

Gold: Theo Bos (Netherlands)

Silver: Tomoyuki Kawabata (Japan)

Bronze: Oh Jeseok(South Korea)