Lee Wai Sze wins Women's Keirin to amass six golds and one bronze this season; Lee Hoi Yan achieves maiden podium spot with a bronze


Hong Kong Track Cycling World Cup drew to a close on Sunday (January 27), local fans favorite Sarah Lee Wai Sze was again invincible as she claimed the gold in Women’s Keirin, repeating her feat of notching up two golds in a single World Cup, having already done so in New Zealand last week. Including her two golds in Hong Kong, Lee Wai Sze amassed six golds and one bronze this season. Another Hong Kong rider Jessica Lee Hoi Yan also put in some heroic performance to take home the bronze in the same event, stepping onto the World Cup podium for the first time in her career.



Having just won the Women’s Sprint on Day 2 of the Hong Kong Track Cycling World Cup, Hong Kong lead rider Lee Wai Sze took part in Women’s Keirin today, the red hot local rider qualified as heat winner in the 1st round, she then avoided a crash in the 2nd round, before powering through the finish line ahead of the pack to reach the final alongside Japanese Rider Riyu Ohta, and China’s Zhong Tianshi. Another Hong Kong rider Lee Hoi Yan, who is representing pro team MSP, also reached the final as heat winner in the opening two rounds.


The Lees battled it out in the final, with Sarah sprinting from behind to win her second Keirin gold in as many outings, Jessica had to settle for the bronze to win her maiden World Cup medal, after surrendering her lead to Japan’s Riyu Ohta.



Over to Men’s Madison Final, Hong Kong’s Asian Games gold medalists Cheung King Lok and Leung Chun Wing ranked 14th out of 17 teams, after a hard fought battle over 30 kilometers. In Men’s Sprint, Hong Kong young rider Law Tsz Chun clocked a time of 10.282 seconds in qualifying (200m time trial), ranking 29th out of 32 riders, and barely missed a place in the 1/16 Final by a single spot.


Following the conclusion of the six World Cup stages, Australia were crowned the Round Winner in Hong Kong, as well as the World Cup Winner of the 2018/19 season.


Day 3 (January 27) results

Men’s Madison

Gold: Thomas Sexton / Campbell Stewart (New Zealand)

Silver: Sam Welsford / Kallang O’Brien (Australia)

Bronze: Benjamin Thomas / Florian Maitre (France)


Women’s Omnium

Gold: Kirsten Wild (Netherlands)

Silver: Laurie Berthon (France)

Bronze: Alexandra Manly (Australia)


Women’s Scratch 10 km

Gold: Martina Fidanza (Italy)

Silver: Alex Martin-Wallace (Australia)

Bronze: Joliet D’Hoore (Belgium)


Women’s Keirin

Gold: Lee Wai Sze (Hong Kong)

Silver: Riyu Ohta (Japan)

Bronze: Lee Hoi Yan (Hong Kong)


Men’s Sprint

Gold: (Australia)

Silver: (Australia)

Bronze: Xu Chao (China)