[Race formats]Team Sprint

The team sprint pits two teams of three riders (Two riders for Women) against the clock and each other over three laps (two laps for Women) of the track. 8 best teams are selected from the qualifying heats on the basis of their times, and proceed to the first competition round. The fastest two teams from the competition round race in the gold medal final, while the next two fastest contest the bronze medal final. The task of the starting rider is to get out of the gate cleanly and bring the team up to a high speed as quickly as possible. After one lap the first cyclist peels off to allow the next rider to make the pace. The leading rider must not swing up until a full lap is complete and must peel off no later than within 15 meters after the pursuit line, otherwise the team will be relegated to the last place in that stage of the competition.